What is a Four Point Home Inspection?
A 4-point inspection is a critical aspect of home insurance as it tells the insurance company the kind of liability they are taking on before they insure your home. The 4 point is an inspection of the four major components of a home: roof, electrical, plumbing, and HVAC.

The inspection looks at these four areas for general function, safety issues, age, and miscellaneous issues insurance underwriters typically would want to know.

How To Pass A Four Point Inspection
A four point inspection is not a pass/fail. The inspection only notes what is at the home. Then, it is up to the individual underwriters to say what is and what is not allowed. Some insurance underwriters can provide home insurance for 30 days while some items are fixed. Additionally, some underwriters will be okay with items in your home for a higher premium.

Ultimately, passing a four point inspection is a case by case and depends on the insurance company NOT the home inspector.

How Does A Four Point Inspection Differ From A Home Inspection?
A four point inspection only covers the four components of a home in a general sense (see image for reference). Also, the report is built for insurance agents NOT for homebuyers. A home inspection would be much more detailed and cover many other sections of the home such as, structural issues, recommendations, insulation, window condition, etc.

Summing Up
A four point inspection is an insurance required inspection that tells insurance underwriters how well the home has been maintained and the kind of liability they are insuring. The inspection is typically required on homes after 30 years of age, but can be as soon as 5 or 10 years.

Homebuyers, sellers, and owners might be required to make repairs to qualify for home insurance based on the findings of the four point inspection.

How do I schedule a Four Point Home Inspection?


4 Point Home Inspection